top of page
  • kjsperl

My New Normal

Updated: Jan 17, 2019

A new normal. It's a term I've embraced since joining the ranks of cancer survivors. I'm not sure I've ever known what “normal” is, but I've attempted to achieve it throughout my adult life. I've worked, married, had a family, and owned homes. I've also spent a significant part of my life staying in shape. I've been a windsurfer, racquetball player, and, most recently, an age-group competitive triathlete. I'm in pretty good shape and eat as best I can. None of that mattered to cancer. Lifestyle risks for kidney cancer include obesity, smoking, drinking, lack of exercise, and being male. Being male is my only qualification. But, it hit me anyway. Learning I had cancer changed who I am – completely. There is no going back. I am a member of a club I've never wanted to join. A cancer survivor's “new normal” is living from CT scan to CT scan. It's enduring drug therapy and its side effects. We might be declared NED (no evidence of disease) but we are never cancer free. There is, after all, no cure for cancer. Cancer survivors are not who we were. But, we are who we are, now. Embracing our new normal. My new normal includes leaving Bend, vacating my rental, quitting my job, trading in my car for a cargo van, and hitting the road. On Monday, Jan. 25, I am “homeless.” I embark on a journey that includes house sitting opportunities, boondock camping, visiting old friends, visiting new friends, spending time with grandchildren, and volunteering for the Kidney Cancer Coalition. While I can. This blog chronicles that journey. It includes essays, chats with cancer survivors, and photography. Please join me.


115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Key

bottom of page