top of page
  • kjsperl

Post Surgery Rant

Updated: Jan 16, 2019

NOTE: I wrote this content after my surgery and during my early recovery.


I feel as if I am entering a new phase of recovery - mostly mental and emotional.

I am beginning to feel from my social circle here that they feel this whole cancer thing is now behind me. It is really hard for them to understand that this is really a life long event and it is , rarely, ALL gone. I am now in the post surgical world and needing to understand how I live from now on, what future treatment may look like, and living from scan to scan and all of its anxiety.

You all get it, in your comments about being on "amber" alert, always being ready for its return, etc.

People now just want to hear that I am "fine", that it is over with, and everything is normal. Life will never be "normal" again, at least compared to my life pre-cancer. It is a new "normal."

I will also admit something to you that is probably completely selfish, self-centered, and wrong.

There is a local story here about an employee of a brewery who just was diagnosed with cancer. His company, employees, and local fundraisers have already raised over $8,000 for him.

Is it completely self-centered of me to say to myself "What about me?" I feel really awful admitting this, but I know I can do so in this forum (probably the only place I can do so.)

Okay, end of rant. ☺



106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page