top of page
  • kjsperl

Cancer brings me life!

Updated: Jan 16, 2019

NOTE: I wrote this content a week ago, when I decided to hit the road, live in a van, and become a house sitter.

In a way, cancer gave me life. I understand if the previous statement may give you pause. How does cancer bring life? Okay, maybe more accurately, cancer brought me a CHANGE in life. It is so easy, and mostly expected, that we humans settle into a life. That life typically entails work and maintaining a residence. For the most part, that is what I have done. But, interspersed have been fits of national park volunteer work, traveling the country in a van, and trying, but failing, to build a personal business, both in computer software engineering and photography. I was, am?, a below average “business man!” I moved to Bend, OR, six years ago as a “retired person.” I volunteered at the local national monument and with the friends of the forest. I worked part-time as a lifeguard at the local pool complex. I competed in triathlons. Then came cancer. It rocked my world. I whined, I cried, I pissed and moaned. I felt sorry for myself for quite awhile. But, I went with the flow and gave up my kidney. I am now declared NED and left to wonder “What next?” I slowly fell back into the routine. I went back to work and I hopped on the trainer to build bike endurance. My walking is up to 5 miles a day, at most. I realized I was returning to my routine. I don't want to. So, I shook it up. I gave notice to vacate my rental without having any idea what I was going to do. At 65 years old and facing homelessness, I was motivated. I can always return to government volunteering in the national parks. But, the current shutdown has made that impossible. Now what? I came across house and pet sitting on the web. I plunked down a little bit of cash and joined two groups. Before I knew it, I committed to heading to Colorado for the month of February to care for two dogs and live in a strangers house – for FREE! In the coming days I landed two other assignments. One in Ashland, OR and another in Carmel, CA. Only by closing one door, was I in a position to hear the knocking on a new door. I had no choice but to answer it. And in came new opportunities. I've also made a ton of new friends. Okay, they are all virtual at the moment. But, this new travel plan has me set up to meet some of them in person. I can't wait. They are family. Who cares if it is because we all struggle with cancer, some a very little bit, like me, others a great deal. So, I have a new life to look forward to and cancer brought it to me. Without it, I would be the same old, same old. Who woulda thunk it.


73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page