top of page
  • kjsperl

You Should Write a Book!

“You should write a book!” Ever since leaving Bend in January 2019 I've heard this. As a cancer survivor who gave up everything and embraced a new life on the road in a van, many think I have a story to tell. Everyone has a story. Yet, most of us don't feel it's of interest to others. One year later, as I reflected on my journey I decided to give it a shot. Many hours spent in many libraries has resulted in a 50-page “story” of my life on the road. More photographer than writer, the book includes many images from around the Northwest, sprinkled with anecdotal stories and thoughts about living with cancer. I traveled extensively throughout the west – Oregon, Washington, Utah, Idaho, California, Nevada, Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, and Arizona. I accrued over 200 days of house sitting, met cancer survivors, and learned to be by myself. I even snuck in a visit with my grand kids in New Hampshire! I visited many national parks – Death Valley, North Cascades, Mt. Rainier, Yosemite, Organ Pipe, Pinnacles, and Lava Beds. National Parks, monuments, and BLM lands were also in the mix. I live in a GMC Savana cargo van, providing 40sf of living space. Everything I own is in the van. I raised money for my peers at SmartPatients.com Twelve-month wall calendars raised over $1,000, allocated to support caregivers with a day of relaxation, purchase a national park pass for a camping family, pay a few bills for another, and send assorted cards and photographic prints to let survivors know that we, at the forum, are thinking of them. The book is my next fundraiser. Sent to the printer on February 1, I expect to accept orders by February 15. For each book sold, $5 goes into my “Smarties Slush Fund” to continue supporting those challenged by cancer. My efforts will not cure cancer. I've adopted a philosophy of donating directly to individuals and not to organizations. I am able to do this solely because of the generosity of others – you, my customers. Thanks and stay tuned! Your support is appreciated by me and those that WE help.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page