top of page
  • kjsperl

Arthritis be Gone!

A walker stands next to the chair, ready to shuffle me to the next destination.

In the bathroom is a high rise toilet seat. A chair sits in the shower.

I am 4-days post-op for right hip replacement.

It hurts. A lot.

Surgery went well, the arthritic crumbled bone is gone. A ceramic cup and ball joint replaced the damage. A metal support shaft is buried in my femur.

The pain associated with arthritis is gone.

I'm waiting for the surgical pain to subside. Two days post-op was pretty intense. Today, three days out, it's somewhat less so, but still prevalent.

I am unable to walk without support. The leg is swollen, the incision burns, and the thigh muscle is very sore.

I have little strength in that leg, unable to straighten it in front of me while sitting. Leg lifts are difficult. Marching in place hurts.

I'm impatient. I want this pain to go away. I know it will.

I keep in mind that this is a fix, a cure, for arthritis. Unlike cancer where we accept where we are at any given point, always fearing its return, this pain will ebb, not to return.

I am blessed to have good friends who have welcomed me into their home to recoup.

Driving is not allowed. Living in the van would be painful.

So I am in place, captive to recovery, telling myself that short term pain is necessary.

Then it is time for the left hip to go.

Getting old is tough, constant pain is exhausting, cancer always lurking keeps me anxious.

With all of that, I have no complaints. I am living the life I want, and I've built great memories.

I look forward to heading out again soon!


80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page